Dispatch into the North Sea from the “King Seaways”

King seaways IJmuiden, December 2011

King Seaways via Wikimedia Commons

I boarded the King of Seaways on the 29th of December in Ijmuiden (near Amsterdam) to go to North Shields (Newcastle) together with my husband and the twins to go home to Nottingham after our Christmas vacation in Germany. After our dinner on board the children got ready for bed and I dropped two of my bottles into the North Sea. I am not quite sure what time it was, maybe 8pm in the Netherlands. If that is true, then we had been sailing for about 2 or 3 hours at the time, in any case we were still much closer to the Dutch than to the English coast.

These were the last two bottles I still had prepared, carrying the numbers 83 and 75.

flaschenpost 01

a last look at the bottles, still in the cabin

flaschenpost 02

stepping out onto the promenade deck

We had our cabin on deck 11 which is rather high above the water. I went down as low as possible on the promanade deck, maybe deck 9, and there at the stern I threw the bottles over the star board, hoping that this way they won’t get struck by the propeller. In the ship’s light I could see one of them floating away, obviously surviving the fall. The other sounded o.k., but I failed to see it. – The attempt to make a photo failed, unfortunately but not unexpectedly.

The following picture was taken the next morning: Somewhere there in the East my bottles float.

flaschenpost 03

Sunrise seen from the stern of the King Seaways

Now it is time to make new bottles. I have no plans yet, so I am myself looking forward to see how the new series will look like.

 

4 thoughts on “Dispatch into the North Sea from the “King Seaways”

  1. Pingback: Bottle Found on the Dutch Coast | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

  2. Oh, that reminds me of my late husband’s and my travelling 2008 from Ijmuiden to Newcastle and heading on to Scotland on a four weeks’ journey. Lovely idea, although we never thought about throwing a bottled message into the sea.

    Love reading your blog. Sounds fantastic and fascinating, too.
    Cheers
    Ulrike

Leave a Reply

