Work in Progress

wip 01

starting the assembly of a piece of furniture, made from skewers and toothpicks

wip 02

I can’t just punch holes with an awl, that would split the skewer, instead I carve small holes with a carving knife

chair drying on my table. – A bit wonky, but in a cute way, I think

next day: the glue has set, and it is time to start weaving the seat

halfway done and briefly tempted to leave it like this

wip 07

there, all done. Finished chair with a match for size comparison.

There is not much to report at the moment, no dispatches, no finds… M. and I are in the middle of purchasing a house. Contracts have already been exchanged, and if not a complete freakish accident happens, we will own it on Friday, three days from now. We won’t move in immediately since we will have to do quite a lot of refurbishment, but in the near future. And so I am getting a little antsy about posting all messaged in bottles that I have made so far and which of course still contain this mailing address. (Not as the only, notas the primary method of contacting me, of course, and with the warning that it might no longer be valid when the message is found, but still.)

I am still wrecking my brain how to put them into scene before dispatching them. – And where to toss them in. I’d be happy to hear any ideas you might have.

I still like the idea of dispatching at least some of them into the river Thames, but it is unclear when I will be in London Obviously I didn’t make it for my birthday. Mhm…

2 thoughts on “Work in Progress

  1. Love that mini chair! I used to make little furnishings for our doll’s house, from matchsticks and balsa wood, but never as ace as this chair.
    Good luck with the house. Moving is stressful, so I think you’re wise to take a little time to get things straight first. You can redirect your post with the post office, for up to a year (in fact they do recommend this, for security reasons), so if anyone responded to your bottle messages, their letter would still reach you.
    Why not try releasing some bottles into the Great Ouse? It has a strong current when it gets nearer the sea – East Anglia/Lincolnshire. Perhaps you could enlist the help of followers who live near, or are visiting the coast this year?

    • Great Ouse, mhm, not too far away, and I have nothing put in yet. Not a bad option, thanks for mentioning it. I still would love to do something special for all those miniatures. I have been wrecking my brain: Putting up something like a “small library” and let people choose and toss something? Exhibit them in some other way? Where, how , when? Finding something here in Nottingham seems wrong, since I do not want to drop them into the river Trent. Mhm, the Thames is very attractive, but again: how could I make the dispatch a little more exciting? Mhmh. Help from a local would be great in putting up a little show or something. I just checked, and according to Wikipedia, Bedford is several sluices away from the sea – doesn’t make it very attractive. Generally, I have not had much luck with rivers in England.
      Other than the Thames, I am thinking ferry to Ireland maybe. But that is quite far… Maybe in the term break after Easter.

      Well, I just posted whatever just went through my head, definitely not the smartest action, and I guess I’ll just stop here 🙂

Leave a Reply

