Making of Bottle No. 80 “Small Worlds – The Picknick”

baskets 01

Four out of seven baskets deemed good enough – I ended up choosing the one on the very left

Bottle number 80 has been my most elaborate yet. At first I learned how to make miniature baskets. Above you see some of the results. I decided to use only the basket to the very left. Then I dived into miniature food making with polymer clay.

Flasche Nummer 80 war bislang meine aufwändigste. Als erstes habe ich gelernt, wie man Miniature-Körbe macht. Oben siehst du vier der sieben Körbe, die ich gemacht habe. Da hieß es dann nur noch auswählen – ich habe mich letztendlich für den Korb ganz links entschieden. Was ich mit dem Rest mache, weiß ich noch nicht. Vielleicht mache ich demnächst nochmal einige Korb-Flaschenposten. Wie dem auch sei, als nächstes habe ich mich dann in Essen-Miniaturen und Polymer-Clay gestürzt.

making miniature chocolate

making miniature chocolate to fit the size of the basket

mini chocolate 2

one of the first and larger chocolates

chocolates

next I experimented with wrappers: paper, aluminium foil, imitation gold leaf

apfel

miniature apple

miniature apples are formed from white-ish clay and then painted. That is much easier than first thought. The colours blend in the right way almost automatically. I made four.

picknick

first trials with creating a scene

Die Mini-Äpfel sind viel einfacher, als erwartet. Man formt den Apfel aus weißem Fimo und malt die Farbe dann drauf. Dabei verschimmen die Rot- und Grüntöne fast automatisch in der richtigen Weise.

dust cover

dust cover

Like all miniature worlds, this one has to contain a miniature book, of course, which I used to consider the main content (which I won’t give away before the bottle is found). However, looking at the effort that went into creating the scene, I might have to revise that view.

mini book klein

everything put together including the informing scroll giving my contact data

Here the book is complete and all the components are put together, including the scroll which I have written this time by hand – for a more personal touch but also so that it fits better within the small hollow I carved into a cork.

Hier ist das Buch schon fertig und mit allen anderen Teilen zusammengestellt.

No 80

shortly before sealing the bottle

Like usual I fixed the different components of the scene (i.e. glued them down), and only the book remained free moving. Glueing them down proved quite hard, though. I had little hope that it would withstand the motion of the sea, but hoped it would hold well enough until a possible dispatch.

Wie immer habe ich alle Teile abgesehen von dem Buch festgeklebt. Das war in diesem Fall wegen der Holzwolle und so aber gar nicht so einfach. Letztendlich saß alles recht locker, aber ich habe gehofft, es würde zumindest bis zum Abwurf alles so zusammenbleiben.

Fotoshoot in the garden

For the photos I put the bottle onto post that form part of the railing of our porch. Unfortunately, just aber two or so photos, the bottle slipped and fell. The bottle itself was unhurt, but the apples and the chocolate are now rolling freely inside the glass. – Well, not perfect, but acceptable, I guess.

Für die Fotos, die ich von der verschlossenen Flasche machen wollte, habe ich sie auf einen Pfosten gestellt, der Teil des Geländers an unserer Veranda ist. Unglücklicherweise ist sie dort nach nur 2 oder 3 Bildern runtergefallen. Der Flasche selbst ist nichts passiert, aber die Äpfel und die Schokolade fliegen nun doch frei in der Flasche herum. Nunja, die Picknick – Szene ist nun also etwas unordentlicher geworden. Nicht schön, aber auch nicht katastrophal, denke ich.

3 thoughts on “Making of Bottle No. 80 “Small Worlds – The Picknick”

Leave a Reply

