New Bottles (including a finished no. 74)

drei flaschenDie drei Flaschen warten gerade auf ihren Wachsüberzug, den letzten Schritt zum Verschließen. Wie du sehen kannst, habe ich die Kofferflasche nun verschlossen (mehr dazu ein bisschen weiter unten), die in der Mitte mit der Biene ist die Flasche Nummer 72, die ich schon vor ein paar Tagen, zwischen dem “Bett” und dem “Koffer” gemacht habe, und heute morgen ist dann noch die ganz vorne dazu gekommen. Aber ich zeige sie einfach mal eine nach der anderen:

The above photo was taken this morning, with the latest three bottles waiting for their beeswax “cap” and final sealant. As you can see, I finished the suitcase bottle. More about that in a minute. First let me show you bottle number 73:

No 73

Message 73 of Project Message in a Bottle by H. Kurzke

I made this one without remembering to take a couple of photos while making it. Well, I wouldn’t have shown them now anyway, as you know. Just so much: the little box holds a surprise.

No. 74

Bottle 74 of Project Message in a Bottle, “Small World – The Suitcase” by H. Kurzke

Thank you for your responses when I asked whether you would prefer the items in the suitcase removable or not. Contrary to popular demand I glued them on (mostly). I decided to tie a band around the shirts and the pants like it might be added by a cleaning service, and then glued the ribbon, so that the garment (or rather, the piece of paper with a picture of a garment) theoretically still can be removed. The suitcase is glued to the carpet, the stack of shirts, too. Inside the suitcase the newspaper is glued to the upper half, a stack of trousers to the lower half, together with a tie and a belt which both cannot be removed from the suitcase. The book, however, is unattached, and can simply be taken out from the bottle.

While writing my last blogpost, I realized that I really wanted to have the control over all parts of the scene like only glueing down the elements will allow me. The main thing here is, after all, the book. And just like for the other bottles, the book is removable, while the other items and the scene are fixed.

flaschenpost no 074-09 making of kleiner

Making of Bottle Number 74, the moment I was dreading: putting glue on the leather

Yep, das ist Klebstoff auf dem Koffer. – Der Moment vor dem ich ein bisschen Bauchschmerzen hatte. Aber ich habe mich letztendlich doch entschieden, all die kleinen Dinge festzukleben. Danke für eure vielen Antworten! Fürs Kleben habe ich mich entschieden, weil ich einfach mehr Kontrolle über das Aussehen der Szene haben wollte, als anders möglich. Und letztendlich sind sie eben nicht die Hauptsache, sondern nur Requisiten, ich will eine Bühne schaffen für mein Büchlein. Bei einem gemalten Bild ist man auch nicht traurig, dass man den Koffer nicht vom Tisch heben kann.

Aber die vielstimmige Meinung, es wäre doch schön, wenn man die Sachen entfernen könnte habe ich wenigstens ein bisschen ernst genommen: Statt die Hemden und Hosen festzukleben, habe ich ein Band um sie gelegt, wie es – so argumentierte ich zumindest mit mir selbst – auch in einer Reinigung umgelegt hätte sein können. Und das habe ich dann festgeklebt. Aber der Schlips, die Zeitung und der Gürtel sind fest. Und natürlich der Koffer. Gerade wie bei meinen anderen Szenen ist das Buch das einzige, was man wirklich rausnehmen kann.

Unten nochmal ein letztes Bild vorm Verschließen:

I didn’t mind at all when I glued the bed to the floor, why did I have problems with the suitcase?, I asked myself. Well, I guess in my mind, a suitcase is just more mobile than a bed, and so I hesitated to glue it, I guess. Also I liked how the lining looked like, and of course with the added small things, this is less visible. My apologies. But I found your view very interesting. I have a third “small world” planned, and now I am thinking of adding more removable items to that scene. I’ll see…

Here is one last view before I clsoed the bottle:

flaschenpost no 074-11 making of kleiner

Bottle No 74 Small World – The Suitcase by H. Kurzke before putting in the cork

No 75

Message number 75 from the Project Message in a Bottle by H. Kurzke

And above you see bottle number 75. I guess this one will be hard to distinguish from trash. I am curious to see whether it ever will get found.

Well, that’s it for today. Next week there will be one or two “German” dispatches, and if the weather plays nice, the first from an English beach might take place in two weeks. I’ll let you know more a little closer to the date!

Flasche Nummer 75 wird vermutlich schwierig von Müll zu unterscheiden sein. Ich bin gespannt, ob ich von der eine Antwort bekommen werde.

So, und das war’s für heute. Ich habe vor, nächste Woche 3 Flaschen in deutsche Flüsse zu werden, ich hoffe, das Wetter spielt mit! Und der erste Abwurf von einem englischen Strand könnte vielleicht schon am ersten Augustwochenende stattfinden. Mal schauen, wie das Wetter so mitmacht. Bis bald!

3 thoughts on “New Bottles (including a finished no. 74)

  1. Nice solution to the suitcase and contents! You have fixed your scene but (should the finder desire) they can still play a bit with it and look at the lovely little shirts.

  2. Pingback: Christmas Dispatches | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

Leave a Reply

