Dispatch No. 52: The Library Lure

message in a bottle by H. KurzkeI love our local library system here. The other week I learned that with the library card from the City of Nottingham, I can not only burrow books from all over Nottingham, no I can borrow books from all over Nottinghamshire. AND to return them, I just have to bring them to my local library in Wollaton (or anywhere in the shire).

We used this great opportunity for a joint trip with the kids to a new library (I won’t tell you you where exactly ­čÖé ) and have a nice reading afternoon with them, while I also left bottle No. 52 hidden between and behind some books there.

Unser Bibliothekssystem hier in Nottingham ist klasse. Erst letzte Woche habe ich erfahren, dass ich mit meiner Bibliothekskarte nicht nur in ganz Nottingham, sondern ├╝berall im Landkreis alle Bibliotheken benutzen kann. Nicht nur das, wenn ich, sagen wir mal in Newark ein Buch ausleihe, kann ich es trotzdem hier in Wollaton zur├╝ckgeben!

Diese Gelegenheit haben wir heute zu einem Familienausflug genutzt. Wir sind mit den Kindern in eine neue Bibliothek gefahren, die Kinder waren begeistert ├╝ber einen Lesenachmittag, und ich habe Flasche Nummer 52 dort ausgesetzt.

I am more than just a bit frustrated with river dispatches here in the UK. I don’t know whether the British don’t search the riverside as meticulously as Germans, or whether all bottles ended in the sea, through bad fate just broke, or were automatically collected. But from 11 bottles dispatched in English and Scottish rivers, only one got found. (In German rivers, 1 out of 3 got found so far.) So that makes libraries luring and especially interesting for dispatches at the moment.

Ich bin im Moment ziemlich frustriert, was den Abwurf der Flaschen in Fl├╝sse hier anbelangt. Ich wei├č nicht, ob die Engl├Ąnder einfach nicht so gr├╝ndliche Sucher sind, wie die Deutschen, ob einfach alle ins Meer gesp├╝lt wurden – und vielleicht noch unterwegs sind, ob sie kaputt gehen, oder automische eingesammelt und weggeworfen werden. Aber von den 11 Flaschen, die ich in Gro├čbrittanien in Fl├╝sse geworfen habe, ist nur eine einzige gefunden worden. (In Deutschland war die Quote etwa 1 von 3.) Da sind, vor allem nach dem letzten Fund, Bibliotheken als Alternative interessant.

Im folgenden Video sieht man eine automatische M├╝ll-Einsammelmaschine in den USA. Ich habe geh├Ârt, es gibt automatische M├╝llsammelstellen in den UK, ob die sie ├Ąhnlich aussehen? Wahrscheinlich ist gerade ein solches Wasserrad insgesammt eine gute Sache. Es macht mich traurig, dass die Fl├╝sse so verdreckt sind, dass automatisches M├╝lleinsammeln n├Âtig ist. F├╝r Flaschenposten macht so etwas einen Fluss jedenfalls vollst├Ąndig unattraktiv. Die Vorstellung, dass eine meiner Flaschen an so einer Stelle landen k├Ânnte tut mir weh.

The following is a video from an automated trash collecting water wheel in the US. I have been told that there is some trash automatically collected from British rivers. A water wheel like the one shown is probably a really good idea from a broad perspective. It makes me sad that it is necessary and that there is so much trash in the rivers to start with. In my narrow view from this project it seems like a monstrous device out of a nightmare. Bottles in there would get destroyed without a human looking at them.

One thought on “Dispatch No. 52: The Library Lure

  1. Pingback: Bottle Number 52 was found – A mystery | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

Leave a Reply

