Library Bottle Found

bottle no. 45 not yet closed

bottle no. 45 not yet closed

I received notice today that the bottle which I planted four months ago in our local branch of the Nottingham City Library has been found by a reader there. He handed it over to the staff, and apparently they opened the bottle. I am very, very happy, about them being happy. They contacted me via public comment which you can read here.

Ich habe heute Nachricht erhalten, dass die Flasche, die ich Anfang April in unserer Stadtteilbibliothek in Wollaton versteckt habe, gefunden wurde. Sie haben einen öffentlichen Kommentar hinterlassen, den du hier lesen kannst. – Ich bin sehr glücklich darüber, dass sie sich gefreut haben, und dass die Flasche endlich gefunden wurde!

For this bottle I started out with making the standing desk. Several attempts with wood failed, and in the end I settled for cardboard painted with brown acrylics. I set a magnet into the desk’s top, and there is another magnet hidden within the tiny book, so that it rests savely on the desk but still can be taken out and read.

the book inside bottle no. 45

the book inside bottle no. 45

Für diese Flasche habe ich mit dem Stehpult angefangen, auf dem das Buch liegt. Nach einigen vergeblichen Versuchen mit Holz, habe ich mich für Pappe entschieden, die ich mit brauner Acrylfarbe eingestrichen habe. In das Pult habe ich einen Magneten eingelassen im Buch einen weiteren versteckt. So bleibt das Buch auf dem Pult liegen, und kann trotzdem herausgenommen und gelesen werden.

Das Buch selbst ist in echtes Leder gebunden, und ist überhaupt ein ganz richtiges Buch, nur eben klein. Dekoriert ist es mit Marmorpapier von der Künstlerin und Marmoriererin Karli Frigge. Auf den Seiten findet man, handgeschrieben, ein Kinderlied, das meine Kinder besonders gerne in der Bilbiothek gesungen haben. Dort wird wöchentlich eine “Erzähl- und Singstunde” abgehalten, die uns allen dreien ganz besonders gut gefallen hat.

The book is a real, leather bound mini book, decorated with a bit of marbeled paper, made by master marbler and artist Karli Frigge. The text in the book is:

Where are the children hiding?
Where are the children hiding?
Where are the children hiding?
In Wollaton Library today.

Woosh, they are under the lycra,
woosh, they are under the lycra,
woosh, they are under the lycra,
that is where they are hiding today.

I don’t remember clearly, whether I put the second stanza, or to be really honest, whether it was indeed this song I put and not another one. This is one of my children’s favorite songs from “Story and Rhyme Time”, also called Totstime, that takes place weekly in our library. Each week two stories are being read and lots of songs are being sung. We started to go pretty much immediately after arriving here in England, I made a couple of first contacts there, the kids always enjoyed the singing very much, and generally it helped us discover a bit of English culture together. As you might expect, I put in a thank you note and explanation in the botte. However, it can be found at the very bottom:

mini 03 blog

Wie du dir vielleicht denken kannst, enthält die Flasche ein Dankeschön für diese schöne Veranstaltung. – Allerdings ganz am Boden. Der Kommentar des Bibliothekpersonals berichtet nichts über Schwierigkeiten, den Zettel herauszubekommen. Also sehe ich vielleicht Probleme, wo gar keine sind, aber ich kann mir nur schwer vorstellen, wie sie den Zettel herausbekommen haben, ohne das Pult zu zerlegen. Herausbekommen haben sie ihn jedenfalls, sonst hätten sie mich ja nicht kontaktieren können, und da sie berichten, sie wollen die Flasche in einer ihrer Vitrinen ausstellen, hat es den Inhalt vermutlich nicht vollständig zerlegt. Ich werde es ja demnächst sehen, wenn ich die Bilbiothek wieder besuche.

Apparently they managed to get the message out, otherwise they could not have contacted me. They do not mention any difficulties with that, so maybe I am seeing more problems than there really are. But I imagine it should be rather hard to do. When putting everything together, I first dropped the message, and then put in the carpet with the desk sewn onto it. I used a crochet hook to press the carpet down firmly over the piece of paper. Then came the wallpaper/wrapper showing a book shelf, and finally I simply dropped the book in, with the magnets doing their job and the book snapping into place neatly.

In their comment they mention that they will put the bottle on display in one of the glass shelves in the library. Maybe I will be able to snap a picture next week and show it to you.

Ah, I should also let you know where I planted it. Well, for obvious reasons I would have liked to put it in the children’s section, but everything is well visible there, and instead of shelves, there are couple of wooden boxes that hold the books, so that didn’t seem possible. In the end I decided for the local history section which is also not too far fetched, I think, and, to be specific, put it behind a book on industrial hose sewing.

It feels good to have another bottle found. I should make some more – I made and distributed a total of 50 bottles by now, and have none currently left waiting for dispatch.

???????????????????????????????Ah, ich wollte ja noch berichten, wo in der Bibliothek ich sie untergebracht habe. Eigentlich hätte ich sie gerne (wegen ihres Inhalts) in der Kinderecke untergebracht. Die ist allerdings besonders gut einzusehen, damit man seine Kinder dort im Auge behalten kann, während man andere Bücher durchschaut. Und außerdem gibt es da keine Regale, sondern die Bücher sind in Holzkisten untergebracht. Alternativ habe ich mich dann für die Sektion Lokalgeschichte entschieden, das fand’ ich auch recht passend. Genau genommen endete es hinter einem dicken Buch über maschinelle Schlauch-Herstellung.

Es ist schön, dass mal wieder eine Flasche gefunden wurde. Das war wohl der Tritt in den Hintern, den ich brauchte, um mal wieder mehr Flaschen zu machen. Insgesamt 50 habe ich bislang gemacht und ausgesetzt, und im Moment keine mehr fertig. Ich sollte mal wieder einige neue machen. – Bis demnächst!

11 thoughts on “Library Bottle Found

  1. Brava! When you started with the bottles in the river, I thought it was a great idea.Now this, a hidden message in a library.Hmm…this just might be an idea worth stealing…With due credit, of course.

    • It makes me happy that you like it that much. I very much doubt that I am the first to do this, though. I somewhere read a list of alternatives to leaving bottles in the sea (rivers, lakes, harbours it said would be good too, and I think I remember they also mentioned libraries, although it was not so much meant as a way to leave a message FOR the library. Quite likely it was on James’ (see below) blog.

  2. Es ist wundervoll!…
    …einfach wundervoll!

    Ich glaube, diese zauberhafte Aktion ist unter deinen Flaschenposten das absolute Meisterstück. Wunderbar, dass nichts schief gegangen ist und die Bibliothekare das kleine Kunstwerk so zu würdigen wissen!

    • Schön, dass es dir auch ein bisschen Spaß gemacht hat, darüber zu lesen 🙂 Es ist nicht die erste Flasche, die ein Buch in diesem Format enthält. Aber die erste ist wahrscheinlich untergegangen – das war noch eine von denen, die keinen Korken hatten.

  3. Pingback: New Bottle – Number 52 | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

  4. Pingback: No. 74 “Small World – The Suitase”. Work in Progress | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

  5. Pingback: New Bottles | Das Flaschenpost Projekt

Leave a Reply

