Ein Fund!

message in a bottle 01 kleinEine der Flaschen ist gefunden worden! Am Samstag erreichte mich die Nachricht per Email, hier ein Auszug:

Gestern fand ich in Schwarzrheindorf auf Höhe der Hundewiese diese wunderschöne Flaschenpost und möchte mich ganz herzlich dafür bedanken. Es ist die Flasche mit dem Fisch! Leider hat sie nicht eine wirklich große Strecke zurück gelegt aber einfach zu finden war sie auch nicht. Sie lag zwischen all dem Überschwemmungsholz, Plastik und diversen anderen Glasflaschen.

Aus den Infos, die ich so habe, schließe ich, dass es sich um Flasche Nummer eins (oben im Bild) handelt, die ich auch tatsächlich als erstes abgeworfen habe. – Die einzige, von der ich das weiß. Auch wenn sie keine große Strecke zurückgelegt hat, feue ich mich doch, dass sie einen Finder gefunden hat!

A first bottle was found. As far as I can tell from what I received as a feedback it was bottle number one. Which is special not only because it was the first. (And also was thrown as a first bottle.) But also because when I made and sealed this one, I had not yet the whole project in mind, which is why the bottle didn’t contain much information about the project, and no number. But I do have a picture of the contents before I closed it, which I now share, as promised:

Und wie versprochen deshalb nun einige Bilder vom Inhalt:

flaschenpost no1-contents

contents of bottle No. 1

Es befinden sich darin der handgeschnittene Stempel, mit dem das Bildchen gefertigt wurde, das natürlich auch enthalten ist. Auf ein Stückchen grünes Holz ist die Skizze aufgewickelt, dazu ein schwarz-grünes Lava-Steinchen aus Teneriffa, das mir mal eine Freundin mitgebracht hat. Alles in ein grünes dünnes Papier gewickelt.

You see there a collection of small things that are connected by color mostly: the handcut stamp which I used for the “cover” design, the related sketch on tracing paper, wrapped around a green piece of wood, (with the grey linen thread it reminded me of a fish on a fishing rod. I don’t remember now whether I also attached it like that), and a small green and black stone which I once received with many similar ones as a gift from a friends.

Hier sieht man meine Skizze auf dem Stempelmaterial bevor ich zu schneiden angefangen habe:

flaschenpost no1-before cutting the stamp

the stamp before cutting

Außerdem noch eine weitere Nachricht:

nochmal neue korkenGestern habe ich nochmal neue Korken bekommen. Die passen jetzt optimal! Ich freue mich schon darauf, sie zu verwenden.

Also: yesterday reached me another delivery of corks. These now fit perfectly, and I am looking forward to using them.

2 thoughts on “Ein Fund!

    • Thank you, Amanda! I have always admired your work, and it means a lot to me, that you like the project 🙂

      This first bottle didn’t go far, as explained in an answer on facebook, it just swam a couple of kilometers and there sat several days until it was found between other flotsam.
      That is part of the attraction for me: If you hear something soon the bottle didn’t make it far, but it is nice to know that it got found. Not hearing anything can mean almost anything, that it travels well and far which would be nice, that the finder just didn’t appreciate the content or just doesn’t bother to contact me, or that the bottle sank and the contents are lost.

Leave a Reply

