Misadventures with bottles in Scotland

I (the Flaschentiger’s significant other, possibly known to you as M.) took some bottles with me on a short trip to Edinburgh. Apparently they looked like yogurt drinks to the X-ray machine, so I had to show them during security check at the airport but was allowed to bring them with me. The original plan had been to drop them in the Water of Leith. However, upon inspection of the river, that did not seem so clever anymore: it is fairly small and not deep enough in the west of the city, and very slow and canal-like, with various gates where trash accumulates (and probably gets thrown away without a second look) down in Leith. I met some anglers who discouraged me from even trying to drop a bottle in the port area. They suggested to try the Western Harbour, so that is where I went. It was difficult to reach the water in the very low tide, and everything was full of slippery stones. In the end I found one basin that was open to the Firth of Forth and dropped a bottle there.

Ich (M.) hatte ein paar Flaschen auf einem Kurztrip nach Edinburgh dabei. Leider hat sich der durch Edinburgh fließende Fluss (“Water of Leith”) als wenig geeignet präsentiert. Vor lauter Ebbe und Regen habe ich dann nur eine Flasche in den Firth of Forth geworfen.

Bottle 11 before letting it go

Bottle 11 before letting it go.

I had planned to drop my remaining bottles as well if the first one looked promising. However, the bottle decided to stay almost where it dropped into the water.

Weitere Flaschen sollten folgen, falls die erste sich vielversprechend bewegt. Nach fünf Minuten war sie etwa einen Meter weit geschwommen. Auf mich zu.

Bottle with waves

Bottle 11 with the waves from dropping it into the water of the Firth of Forth.

Then it started raining so hard that I gave up, caught a bus to the city centre and stuffed myself on mussels. I hope my next bottle attempt will be a less frustrating experience.

Auf meine nächste Reise nehme ich aber wieder Flaschen mit und werde vorher ein bißchen besser planen, wo ich sie aussetze. Von einem Boot aus gefällt mir eigentlich bis jetzt am besten.

Leave a Reply

